We’ve all been there: You send a message to a group of friends only to realize how dumb it sounds after the message is sent.
Now, Snapchat is going to make it easier for you to go back and quickly delete the message from your conversations in the app.
In the past, messages would only self-destruct after everyone in a chat group (whether it was one person or more) read it. Now, following the latest Snapchat update, users can press and hold on a message and select “delete” in any chat.
When a message is deleted, other users in the same chat will be notified that a message was deleted. This small detail will hopefully prevent chaos from breaking out in chat threads and add a small layer of transparency so that everyone can keep up with the conversation.
Of course, there’s still one major workaround: Determined users can screenshot the message if they truly want to keep evidence of it. As always, Snapchat will notify users when a screenshot has been taken of any message, photo, or video.
The feature update is relatively small, especially when compared to something like the heavily criticized Snapchat redesign, but it’s still signficant enough that it should make using the app much easier for large groups. It may also help Snapchat win back some goodwill, which it desperately needs now that Snapchat’s user satisfaction is at an all-time low.